# Opening The Editor (updated)

The Website Editor can be opened from the main Auction Dashboard or from the Auction Website itself although both require you be logged into the Auctria platform as a User with the organization and a minimum User Permission Level of Power User.

 ∞ Auction Dashboard  ∞ Auction Website  ∞ User Accounts  ∞ User Permissions

# Via The Auction Dashboard

The main Auction Dashboard also has two approaches you can use, the first is to follow the website address link in the table of quick reference boxes at the top of the page. This will take you to the Auction Website where you can open the editor (see below).

img

An example view of the Auction Dashboard from a demonstration event.

The other option is to scroll down to and click through the Website entry in the main Auction Dashboard sidebar to reach the Website Dashboard.


# Opening The Editor From The Website Dashboard

img

An example view of the Website Dashboard from a demonstration event.

Clicking through the Edit Website menu item under the Actions sidebar menu will open the Auction Website with the Website Editor Sidebar open on the left-hand side of the screen.

img

An example view of the Auction Website in edit mode from a demonstration event.


# Opening The Editor From The Auction Website

To open the Website Editor from the Auction Website you must be logged into the Auctria platform as a User with the organization and a minimum User Permission Level of Power User.

img

An example Auction Website when logged in with appropriate permissions to edit.

From this view, simply click on the green icon in the lower-left corner of the page to open the Website Editor Sidebar.

img

An example view of the Auction Website in edit mode from a demonstration event.


# Saving the Website

The website editor has a dynamic save mechanism for the pages, layout, etc. and will automatically update if/when each element on a page is saved individually.

img

The AutoSave function can be toggled off requiring you to manually save changes. After an edit has been made, the status will change to Save Needed and a Save Now link will appear.

img

# Website Locked

When opening the website editor where multiple User Accounts have access to edit the website could trigger the built-in safety mechanism providing a warning to let you know someone else may be editing the website.

img

The Website Locked message will appear and note the specific User editing the website and will continue to appear for 15 minutes from the timestamp shown in the message.

This "locking" happens with the new website editor to try and prevent two people editing the website at the same time. This can also occur if you close a browser tab and start editing in a different tab since the lock is associated with the browser tab.

You can either Discard your changes which will take you back to the website page view (closing the editor) or you can Ignore Issue & Continue which will continue with your editing session.

The best way to avoid Website Locking is to keep and use the same browser tab open for editing.

Auctria Launch PRO-TIP

It is possible to release the lock by clicking on the "preview" (eye) icon in the Website Editor Sidebar to switch out of edit mode in the current tab.

# Save Error

If you have opened the website editor and received the Website Locked message and you continued with your editing session you may also see the Save Error message. This is often triggered by the dynamic save function when the Website Locked status has been triggered.

img

The Save Error message will note the specific User editing the website and will continue to appear for 15 minutes from the timestamp shown in the message.

You can Force save: overwrite any other changes which will save the current version of the website in the browser tab you are looking at, Discard your changes which will take you back to the website page view (closing the editor and losing your unsaved changes), or you can Ignore and continue without auto-saving which will allow you to continue with your editing session.

INFORMATION

Clicking on the Ignore and continue without auto-saving option will turn off the AutoSave option as well. Please remember to save your changes as needed and ensure AutoSave is turned back on if you wish to continue using it.


# Closing the Website Editor

The Website Editor can be "closed" by using the "eye" icon in the preview bar (see Preview Website Pages) below the page title in the website editor sidebar. The green editor icon will remain visible in the lower left corner of the screen to re-access the Website Editor Sidebar.

INFORMATION

Closing the Website Editor using the "eye" icon in the preview bar also unlocks the website after you have saved your edits.


Last Revised: 2022-04-01
Last Updated: 4/1/2022, 8:59:07 PM