What Happens When Bidding Ends?

An item will use the auction default Online Bidding Period unless there is an Override value set in the Bidding Rules for that item.

When the Online Bidding End Time for an item is reached, Online Items will close.

For these "Online Items", an "Item Won Notification" email is sent to the winning bidder by default unless this is turned off under Website > Online Bidding | Notifications section.

For Live Items/Silent Items that have online pre-bidding enabled, the system will not close the bidding when the online bidding period ends. Live Items/Silent Items will only close when you use the Record Bids page and check the Final Bid box or the item is explicitly closed on its Item Details page.

For items with pre-bidding, bids will no longer be accepted online although those items will still be open. The highest bidder will not receive a notification until the item is closed.

Last Updated: 8/15/2019, 5:57:00 PM