Delete Purchase With Payment
There are two steps to delete a purchase, or winning bid, with a payment:
- Delete Winning Bid/Purchase; and,
- Remove/Refund Payment.
Both of these steps are completed from the Bidder Details Activity tab.
Delete Winning Bid/Purchase
On the Bidder Details page, select the Activity tab. There will be a red
X next to the Items Won or Purchases line. Click on the red
X and it will remove it from the bidders account.
For Items Won items, the next bid becomes the winning bid. If bidding is still open, it will display as "in-progress Winning Bids". If the item is closed, the new winning bid will display as "Items Won" and added to that bidder's record.
If the bidder has made any payments, they will not be impacted when the item is deleted. Payments are not directly attached to specific items.
For Tickets items, removing the ticket from the Purchases section will remove the ticket assignment.
When a purchase is deleted, the payment is not adjusted automatically -- the bidder's account would just show a credit balance. A new bid/purchase/donation can be recorded to cover the amount or you can remove the payment as described below from the Bidder details page -> Activity tab.
If on Credit Card, you can then refund the payment (see Credit Card Refunds for more details.
If the payment is an "Other Payment" type (cash, check, etc.), there will be a red
X next to the payment record. Click on the
X and it will remove the payment from the bidder account.
Reviewed: April 2023